In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping malls or centres to do their shopping. Does this have a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, huge shopping complexes are constructed to decrease increasingly the numbers of local shops. I strongly believe that, it has a disastrous effect on society. In this essay, the effects of shopping centres development on society will be evaluated. On one hand, constructing large shopping malls makes people comfortable to do shopping in one place at the least time. This means it will not be a time-consuming option. However, these centres have some negative effects that causes people forget this positive point. The first positive influence is making an overcrowded area. As a result, traffic jams will be happened and consequently, people strictly face a lot of problems for doing their daily routines. On the other hand, local shops sell their products with a lower price, however, sellers in large shopping centres sell the same products at least two times more expensive. This is due to they must pay more tax and rent. The last effect is on elderly people, because they will not be able to city centre for shopping. In conclusion, in this essay, the effects of large shopping centres on people is evaluated.