Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued by some that the most effective way of reducing crimes is giving jail imprisonment for a longer period of time. However, others argue that there are other better ways to tackl e the issue.In this essay, I will discuss my own perspectives and why I believe that alternatives measures are far better. There are those who believe that issuing a harsher punishment is the strongest method to deter the crimes. They believe that putting them behind the bars for a long term period could instill fear in other people and potential criminals.. In fact, it could act as a deterrent to reduce crimes.Not only that, but also longer sentences will discourage people from committing a crime as they know the negative consequences when disobeying the laws.When prisoners are released after a short period of imprisonment, they could destroy the society affecting the young children. Therefore, people who break the laws are subjected for a longer prison time. However, I believe that alternative measures by means of reducing crime are better options. By tackling the main causes of crimes is more effective.One of the causes of crimes in underprivileged countries is poverty. The government should provide job opportunities to their young citizens to keep them off the street. Not only will the community become peaceful but also it is safe to live within. Moreover, addiction is also a big concern.By giving the proper treatment and counselling are pivotal in order to eradicate addiction.Efforts should be made by the authorities in order to lessen this problem. By doing so, the rates of felonies could be lessened. In conclusion, longer prison terms certainly induce fear and discourage other people and future criminals from committing offences. However, by identifying and treating the root causes of crimes are better ways to lower crime rates.