Many people believe that cooking is an essential life skill and should be taught to boys and girls in schools. Others disagree and believe it is a waste of school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Cooking is an essential part of our daily lives and it is an important lifeskill. Many argue that it should be taught to boys and girls in school while others think that it is a waste of time.Both aspects are discussed in this essay. Nowadays,children might have to leave their parents for higher studies or jobs.So they must be taught cooking irrespective of gender.As it is unhealthy to eat outside food in the restaurant on daily basis, boys should know how to cook when they are away from home.Nutrition is very important for the proper maintenance of health.I agree with the point that cooking should be taught to boys and girls in school as it would be helpful for them to gain knowledge about healthy food and nutrition so that they will be cautious about the food they eat. Moreover, they can also have the option to choose cooking as a career. For example, some of the famous chefs in India are males like Sanjeev Kapoor,they can get inspired from them and become successful chefs if they are skilled in the art of cooking. However, Some people think that it is a waste of time to teach cooking to boys and girls in the school as they would be able to concentrate more on their core subjects which are necessary for career aspects.To some extent,it may be true but proper management of time at school or during the holidays, the school can arrange cooking classes for both boys and girls. In conclusion, I agree that cooking should be taught in school to both boys and girls but not at the cost of other important subjects.Proper scheduling of core subjects and art forms like cooking,painting, physical education may help them in proper physical and psychological growth.