Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When comes to the question of whether young people should serve in the army compulsorily, attitudes toward this vary from person to person. Some people consider it beneficial to countries, however, others argue that the decision should be made by the school leavers themselves. Personally, I agree with the latter view, and this essay will provide the reasons. To begin with, in modern society, as democracy should be developed and enhanced in all countries, people should have the free will to join military service. Moreover, not everyone is fit for the army, such as people who have physical defects or inherited diseases. Consequently, forcing young men who are not willing to or physically unfit may result in issues during daily training and discipline which are the most important routines in military service. In addition, compulsory military not only causes problems for the army but also affects individuals negatively. For example, school leaves may lose career opportunities due to the gap between leaving school and completing compulsory service. Schools equip youngsters with updated knowledge and practical skills which may lead them to prospective career development. However, army service hinders the pace of young people updating their skills and being competitive in job markets. Furthermore, this gap may also isolate young people from the outside changing world, thus decreasing their self-esteem and causing socialising issues. To conclude, governments may encourage young people to join the army, however, it should not be compulsory because it brings disadvantageous effects both to the school leavers' self-development and social progress in the long run.