Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

The usage of public resources in the arts is constantly in question. Music and theatre are among the many artistic expressions that enjoy the benefits of this investment. It is disagreed that the Government must invest the art capital exclusively in public services. Analysing the art sector as an economic and educational asset, as well as the importance of cultural preservation will prove this. Firstly, a lack of investment in arts would have a negative impact on the educational and economic system. For instance, in Brazil, where I am from, the arts are widely known as a way to keep young people in schools and away from the crime industry, especially those with limited resources. Sadly, this would not be possible if the Government discontinues that investment. Moreover, the art sector is responsible for many job opportunities and tourism, which stimulate capital circulation. Therefore, these make it clear that the Government must not invest in public services with the art budget. Secondly, arts are recognized around the world as a wonderful method of cultural preservation. Music and dance moves, for example, are passed along traditions to future generations, which keep the community culture alive. This is an attribute that is extremely important for many cultures. Due to this, the public resources must continue being destinated to the arts. To summarise, investments in the arts are extraordinary approaches to keep young people in school and to encourage the growth of employment opportunities and tourism expansion, as well as to keep cultures alive for the generations to come. Personally, I disagree that spending money on arts is a waste of money and it must be invested in public services instead. After analysis on this subject, it is proved that Government must not put an end to the art contribution and this capital should not be replaced by financing another sector.