Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Certain individuals think that doing diplomas or degrees can lead to success in employment whereas the other perspective is that working soon after high school is the greatest alternative. I agree more with the first outlook but this essay with discuss both of them below. Foremost, the idea that university studies are the best route to good careers is plausible. This is first because college education is considered the apex of schooling hence undergraduates get the highest positions in the workplace comparative to secondary leavers, and secondly because diploma and degree studies fashion the learners with the relevant theories required to tackle industrial duties. For example, certain companies like Google go straight to schools like Oxford or the London School of Economics, to recruit graduates with specific skills they require in their workstations, which signals that they prefer these over high scholars. On the other hand, however, getting a job straight after school can still be lucrative because certain job trades do not require theoretical knowledge but practical mastery. In such instances, it is much better to go for paid apprenticeship or mentorship programs than to spend years in an academic institution of higher learning. I have seen from my experience, a majority of my friends in engineering fields like refrigeration and boiler making choosing to do several internships with various companies as a way of improving their careers rather than doing a diploma and they state that this is the best way of making early breakthroughs and riches in their industries. This, nevertheless, leaves them second best as they have to compete with degreed engineers who also did a one-year internship, who end up earning more and being promoted earlier. In conclusion, while obtaining employment soon after pre-university learning may be tempting since it fast-forwards the possibilities of reaching career peaks, going to undergraduate departments still offers better prospects of higher incomes and chances of promotion. I argue, therefore, that the first view is more important than the second one.