In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays, in some cultures, adults tend to teach the youngsters that if they try hard enough, they will get everything they want. It is argued that whether this statement should be told to the children or not because it has both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, youngsters who are taught that if they have adequate efforts they will achieve their goals tend to have more patience than those who do not believe. They will do everything they can to acquire whatever they want because they believe their dream will come true if they put enough effort. With this belief, no matter how many obstacles on their way, they do not stop doing until they reach their destination. To illustrate, learning foreign language is difficult for adolescents but one student who had faith in this theory tries his best to practice speaking everyday and in the end he can fluently speak a foreign language while others surrender and unable to reach their goal. Therefore, the one who has more patience and never give up will be more successful in life. On the other hand, in the real world, it is impossible for everyone to receive everything they desire. Even though people give all things they have, it does not guarantee that they will get what they want. Achievements depend on a lot of factors not only the dedication that people can control but also the luck which is uncontrollable. This is the reason why teaching children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough is not totally accurate. Moreover, when they find out that whatever they are taught is not true, they will be disappointed and sometimes leads to the terrible situations. They will have low self esteem and turn into the severe problem in the future. In conclusion, the main advantage of teaching the children to put on the effort to get whatever they want is they can set a successful destination of their life and have more patience however the major disadvantage is the disappointment if it does not be as they want.