Some people believe that children should be banned from using their phones during the school day. Others believe that children should be allowed to use their phones. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Mobile phones have become easily available to all and sundry in recent years. Many believed that students in high schools should be allowed to use this technology during school times while others opposed this vehemently. I completely disagree that teenagers should be allowed to operate these tools during school hours because they will become an object of mischief and distractions. There are several reasons why I strongly disapprove of using mobile devices during learning periods. To start with, the use of this device creates a lot of distractions for students. Despite the advantages that come with cell phones, allowing the student to use them will create a huge distraction for them. For example, studies have shown that kids of school age will choose to chat on social media or play games when given a mobile phone rather than do some school works. Cellphones will make it difficult for them to concentrate and focus on their studies. Furthermore, Mobile devices in the hands of teenagers have been a tool for exam malpractices. With this technology, students have mastered the art of cheating during exams. To this end, the West African Examination Council has banned the use of mobile phones during any of their exams in order to minimise malpractices. Nonetheless, despite all the demerits mentioned above. the telephone is a good technology that can be a very useful tool when applied properly. It has aided learning and has made research easier because you can access information on the go. For instance, with this technology, students can form study groups online to share information on what has been thought in class. These are some of the pros that come with allowing children to use phones during learning hours. In summary, Mobile phones have become a very important tool today. I don't think it will be appropriate to allow this device in the hands of high school students because it will be abused and used for the wrong purposes.