Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that activities are not good for a child's mental health. To what extent do yuo agree or disagree?

Today, most children are inclined towards indoor entertainment like watching TV and playing games online. Many people argue that due to such technological inventions, kids are not spending time on physical activities and instead they prefer to sit in front of the screens for long durations which in turn can be harmful to their mental growth, however, I do not believe this statement to be entirely true and there are both positive and negative impacts which shall be discussed in the below paragraphs. Firstly, playing games help kids to enhance their mental ability. For instance, while playing games they need to concentrate and maintain coordination between their eyes and hands that will enhance their reflex actions. Moreover, there are plenty of games that require kids to think out of the box. Hence, it helps in the overall development of the mind. On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned benefits, there are certain drawbacks of spending more time on these electronic modes of entertainment. If children are spending all of their leisure hours on these kinds of activities, for example, they are likely to be less active. When they have the privilege of staying home and entertaining themselves, why would they go out and play? Additionally, it can make them introverts as they hardly get to interact with other people. To conclude, it is quite clear with the above statements that mental skills are enhanced by playing video games and watching educational tv programs but at the same time, this trend has made kids introverts and they lack social skills. Therefore, they should be motivated to have a balance by equally involving themselves in outdoor sports as well.