In many countries, people do not recycle waste material, such as paper, glass and cans. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Waste recycling can save a lot of mine resources that are not renewable. However, not all these waste resources are recycled for some reason. The reason for that is not simple, so I will try to explain and give my solution in this essay. I believe the most important reason for not recycling those litter is that the recycle can be expensive. To be specific, the external cost comes from storing them separately after use, transporting them to recycling organizations, and making them usable materials can make them even more expensive than those from ores. Still over, the material from recycling may also suffer lower quality for its complex compound, such as recycled plastic. So, we can see that the economic problem is the main factor that makes recycle rate low. To solve the problem, we can raise the cost of using original material or reduce the spending on recycling. For example, the rising carbon emission tax on ore can not only solve the problem of recycling but also carbon neutralization. Also, the development of recycling technologies for improving efficiency and quality may overcome the obstacle of making use of those recycled materials. Those strategies can make recycling organizations more profitable and finally recycle more waste. Moreover, it’s also important to educate the public to sort the waste in the first place. For instance, a mixture of multi-type of waste, paper, metal, and glass, should be classified before sending them into the recycling process. Then, sorting the waste before transporting can save that money. In conclusion, we can use economic methods and educate the folks to recycle more materials to protect our environment.