Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Obesity, heart diseases, diabetes and many such health problems have become common these days. The main cause of the declining health of people is bad eating habits like having packaged food and drinks which have high levels of sugar and fat. Many people recommend that the prices of ready to consume food items should be increased in order to reduce consumption, however, I completely disagree with the statement as there are better ways to deal with this problem. Firstly, the increased prices of manufactured foodstuff will only benefit the companies and not society. As the person who is addicted to these items will anyways have them despite the high rates. For instance, outlets like dominos serve quite expensive pizzas and drinks but that does not stop customers from buying from them. Secondly, packaged food is not the sole reason for health issues. If a person is exercising and tries to be active, there is no harm in having these delicacies once in a while. Therefore, just by rising the selling costs, the population will not be benefited. Additionally, to have a healthy lifestyle in society, the government and manufacturers should try for other options, for example, companies can try to make products by using natural alternatives of processed sugar and carbohydrates. The Government can make rules for the industries to serve nutritious food and can keep a check by regularly inspecting their sites. Also, the public should make smart choices while eating outside and they should invest some of their leisure time in physical activities that can help them remain fit. In conclusion, society needs to understand that health is wealth and people should make healthy decisions to have a better life. They should motivate each other to indulge in good habits like healthy eating and exercising.