Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I would like to start by highlighting the importance of leisure with a few lines from a very famous poem. What is this life if full of care and we have no time to stand and stare? But the idea of rejuvenation differs from person to person. A few people like to pursue their hobbies like painting, singing or reading in their free time while some others prefer to meditate and give themselves the much-needed emptiness of thoughts. On one hand, hobbies are considered extremely important when it comes to maintaining the work-life balance. They also serve as an essential break from the daily routine. Getting involved in a specific hobby helps improve a person's concentration. This in turn would result in increased productivity at work. Thus, activities such as solving word puzzles, playing musical instruments or dancing can go a long way in cultivating any human's well-being. On the other hand, a few people have a completely different approach towards leisure. Their idea of relaxation is giving our mind the rest that it deserves. They prefer to enrol in meditation programmes. Such initiatives may not only help in restoring one's physical and mental health but also create the necessary spiritual awareness. For instance, there are ashrams in India that encourage people to join their monthly camps which offer guidance regarding both yoga and meditation. All in all, it depends on an individual's idea of what relaxation means to him. It can work either by means of pursuing hobbies or giving total rest to one's mind. In conclusion, a break is an absolute necessity in whichever form is possible.