Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possiblein scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe thatsome information is too important or valuable to be shared freely.

According to some, the sharing of information in business, academia, and science isbeneficial beneficial and positive, whereas others believe that certain kinds of informationshould be not be shared due to its value and importance. In my view, thedissemination of some types of knowledge is a positive step for society. This essaywill discuss, how medical research can be advanced by shared knowledge, and whysome business details should be kept secret. The widespread dissemination of scientific knowledge is a goal that all societyshould welcome. I believe the benefits of sharing medical research needs to beencouraged as a failure to do so may cost lives. For example, one reason whyscientists attend conferences is to present new research and findings into commonproblems, such as Cancer, and other diseases. By sharing, scientists can come upwith cures much faster together than working apart. However, not all data ought to be shared as it may prove too costly to do so, suchas business details, in trade, and share prices, etc. For this reason, I would agreethat certain types of information should not be widespread. For example, if aspeculator speculator had advance warning of stock prices they could manipulate the marketand cause the company to go bankrupt, costing people their jobs, and possibly theirsavings also. The danger then is that having such detailed economic informationfreely available may be used by some people to profit at the expense of others. In conclusion, whether the sharing of information is a positive or negative step isdebatable debatable, in my opinion some knowledge should be shared freely, such as forscientific scientific studies. That being said, I would agree also that other more sensitive data,in the financial area, need not be so widespread for fear of causing economicinstability.