In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, in several organisations, discussions over electronic mediums are more preferred than in-person meets. This essay agrees that the advantages are stronger than the disadvantages because it is convenient for employees and allows companies to save money. Firstly, with the help of,advancements online communication has now made everyone's life easier than ever. Peers can now hold business discussions among each other or with clients from anywhere in the world with an internet connection and a laptop or a mobile phone. For example, during the recent covid outbreak times the almost entire world was working from home. With online chats, people were able to continue working and losses of millions of dollars were averted. Hence, virtual meetings are saving money for corporates and also contributing towards business continuity. Nevertheless, the online way of communicating comes with several drawbacks. For instance, one needs a high-speed internet connection to attend calls and to get good quality audio and video during sessions. Also, In an event when there's a power cut, one can miss an important meeting. In addition, cybercriminals are constantly looking for ways to gather sensitive information from corporates that they could sell on the dark web. For instance, in a recent cyberattack on an Indian mobile payment application, over 5 million sensitive users data was hacked. To concluder, I firmly believe that merits such convenience and cost-saving outweigh the demerits of using internet technology for communicating among staff members.