Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is true that while there are a large number of college graduates accommodating with their parents, others choose to move out of their houses to settle in new places. There are considerably both benefits and drawbacks when it comes to these circumstances. Living with parents may be too protective for the students that they could not grasp experiences of the outside world as much as the ones living independently. As a result, they would tend to keep themselves in their comfort zones because many real issues, even the most basic tasks have already been tackled by their family members. For example, they do not have to pay for the tuition fees or monthly rents and other service bills since their parents would take responsibility to pay for them. In contrast, those who live away from home may sometimes feel homesick and isolated in new environments. Thus, they would spend more time travelling back to their home to visit their parents, especially on special occasions and holidays. Students living with parents may have more time to spend on studies and other activities such as joining clubs at college. Besides, their concentration levels in studies are much more improved as they need not be concerned about any arousing problems when these problems are already taken care of by their families. Regarding those staying away from homes, they can seize the opportunities to develop their soft skills and life experiences as they meet people from different cultural backgrounds. In addition, they can also raise their sense of independence such as finding part-time jobs or self-managing their budgets. To recapitulate, there are both benefits and drawbacks to university students when considering moving away from families or staying home with parents.