Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it must be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People are dealing with different views about economic development. While there is a belief that it is the sole method to discontinue starvation and impoverishment, others claim that it does serious harm to the environment. Although it can be stated that the expansion of the economy plays a crucial role in eradicating some domestic difficulties, I believe that its effects on the environment are completely unacceptable. To begin with, the development of economics creates more job opportunities and increases the supply of goods. This would provide the inhabitants with plenty of job vacancies, which may resolve the unemployment problems within a country. The unemployed would have better careers with higher income, and their salaries are capable of taking care of their family members. In addition, the vast extension in the quantities of products supplied might reduce the price of most consumer products. Thus, the impoverished are affordable to purchase more products and their living standards significantly get better. However, the surrounding environment in recent years is progressively devastating due to some undesirable attempts to grow the economy, and it must be strictly prevented. For instance, an enormous amount of raw sewage and industrial waste has been reported to be discharged by myriad industrial factories, which may contaminate the sources of clean water and then possibly cause cancer to people living nearby. Therefore, governments must enforce strict laws and policies to stop these activities. To recapitulate, effectively may economic growth help better people’s lives, I reckon that some destructive activities to the environment must be banned stringently.