Today, more and more tourists re visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places.

Nowadays, many people are touring sites that are not friendly like the Saharan and Antarctic resorts. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages for those who visit such places. These unfriendly areas give new and different recreational experiences as well as cultural exposure to tourists. First, the visitors are able to experience climates and other things that are totally different from the norm and they carry back memories to their countries. Secondly, they can benefit from intermingling with people of other cultures and learning their languages and practices. For example, a recent study indicated that many travellers usually buy local regalia and other things or learn the basics of greeting and communicating so that when they return home, they talk about these for the rest of their lives. But these places also come with negativities such as bad weather and travellers contracting ailments. Certain geographical locations are too hot and humid while some are extremely cold. In the Sahara desert, for instance, the likelihood of having to endure over forty-degree Celcius temperatures is high. Further still, it becomes problematic when the visitors contract serious ailments like malaria and influenza. Some come unprepared for these while others are forced to prematurely abandon their trips. For example, a European traveller was reported by the BBC to have been airlifted from the desert in Botswana to receive medical attention in South Africa after he went down with a viral infection. In summary, visiting places where conditions are difficult brings advantages and disadvantages for those who visit such as cultural exposure and bad weather. These and other factors have been discussed at length in this essay.