In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

The impact of a certain type of advice varies among individuals. Children in many cultures are often motivated with advice stating if they work hard, they can achieve anything they desire. I will provide further details regarding the advantages and disadvantages associated with this message in the course of the essay. To commence with, one possible advantage of providing motivation to children by telling them to work hard will certainly motivate a child to dream high rather than restricting their choices. A child, for instance, is more likely to perform well and obtain the desired results if he is provided with the support of his parents. Similarly, the message helps children in boosting their confidence level and improving their skills in areas like decision making and accountability, resulting in becoming a better version of themselves. On the contrary, there are various drawbacks of encouraging the young population with such a message. The intensity of advice is rather high as it emphasises achieving anything. For example, this builds mental pressure on a child’s actions, resulting in mental instability, including anxiety and stress. The peer pressure associated might have detrimental effects due to huge expectations from society. In addition to this, failing to acquire their dream or goals often leads to disappointment and discouragement, which results in a decline in their confidence level thus building an inferiority complex behaviour. To conclude, there seem to be several advantages of encouraging and motivating children in achieving anything accompanied with hard work, the disadvantages include the negative impact on offspring who find it challenging to compete with the rest along with offspring who fail to be successful after numerous trials.