Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people argue that visitors from other countries ought to pay more than local residents when visiting cultural-historical sites and monuments. I completely disagree with the idea. The argument in favour of higher prices for foreign tourists is that a large sum of maintenance fortune which goes for cultural and historical sites is largely dependent on local government and inhabitants. They have put a lot of effort and money into protecting these eminent places through the tax systems, volunteer work or other channels. However, I believe this is a short-sighted view. Foreign tourists contribute to the economy of the host country with money they spend on a wide range of goods and services, including food, accommodation, souvenirs and transport. The government and citizens in every country should be pleased to subsidize important tourist sites and give a warm welcome to individuals around the world. If foreign visitors are charged more than their local counterparts when visiting historical attractions in a particular nation, they may feel unfair, thus making them unwilling to go to that country on holiday. To take China as an example, the tourism industry and many related jobs rely on visitors coming to the country to see places like the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace. These two sites charge the same price regardless of nationality, and this helps to promote the nation’s cultural heritage. If overseas tourists no longer frequent these places, there would be a risk of insufficient funding for the maintenance of these important buildings. In conclusion, visitors abroad play an active role in protecting local attractions and they should pay the same money as local residents.