Computer games are becoming very popular among children of all ages and nationalities. Parents say they are concerned because these games have little educational value and many harmful effects. Do you agree or disagree?

These days more and more adolescents have spent a large amount of time on online games around the world. While some parents have started to monitor children's computer use, busy parents who work until late are inclined to let them free, arguing children will learn self-restriction in time. However, I strongly believe that computer games are more harmful than beneficial. First of all, young people can be addicted to online games and waste their time and resources. Children around 10 are not enough matured to restrict themselves and they easily play games for much longer than they are supposed to do so. In addition, if students spent more time on games, they would spare less time on assignments or preparation and it would end up with poor academic performance. For instance, some students who indulged in online games dropped some classes and finally dropped out of primary school. Secondly, the games on the internet are harmful to the physical and mental health of a child. Long before children played outside, while they are sitting for a long time during games nowadays. The shift in children's play would prevent them from physical growth. What is worse, through social games a child would be unconsciously involved in a crime. Some vicious crimes can occur to the child where the parent does not know. In conclusion, disadvantages in computer games weigh more than the advantages. Students would get low academic grades and might be exposed to serious risks caused by a sedentary lifestyle and hidden crimes.