Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that a person’s personality and cultural background could possibly be identified by how they choose clothes. This essay agrees with the statement because of the importance of clothes in different cultures, and the fact that clothes are often chosen based on personal taste and preference. Indigenous clothes play a vital part of a country’s culture. Therefore, people could be wearing different types of clothes based on their cultural background. For example, in Viet Nam, women tend to wear a traditional dress - Ao Dai on special occasions. Thus, when a person is seen wearing Ao Dai, it could be a good indication that the person came from Viet Nam, having Vietnamese culture and vietnamese people’s typical personality. Besides, clothes could also be chosen based on personal taste and preference. In other words, people with an eclectic mix of personalities have distinct tastes, therefore they wear different types of clothes. In Vietnam, teenagers tend to wear casual clothes like black or white t-shirts, while adults prefer formal clothes like suits or coats, as they are more mature. By observing the style of an individual, much of their personality could definitely be leant. In summary, it is totally possible to know about a person’s culture and character through what they wear. Clothing plays a huge part of a culture and personality dictates different people's taste and preference when it comes to choosing clothes.