The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently, with the assistance of technological advancements in our country, criminal activities have been reduced to a great extent. I strongly agree with the statement as security services are now equipped with modern devices for surveillance and for protecting their citizens. I will be elucidating my thoughts in subsequent crumbs of writing. Firstly, police have been provided with various high-tech types of equipment to protect people. Also, they also have a wide range of technologically advanced monitoring systems to keep an eye on suspects. Offenders are well aware of this situation and they attempt to execute crimes knowing that it will be very easy for officers to catch them. Hence, the rate at which crime used to happen has drastically gone down. For instance, a recent study conducted by the University of New York has revealed that post-installation of high-definition cameras, thefts have reduced by over 60 per cent. Secondly, even common people make the best use of this enhancement in digital space that ultimately leads to the declining trend of crime rate such as satellite location trackers. Also, GPS plays a very significant role in citizens lives, it is easy to send locations to your friends and loved ones. While you are travelling in a cab or if you need any assistance during an emergency, one can send SOS notifications in case they seek help. For example, a survey conducted by Glamour magazine recently revealed that 90% of women feel that they ensure they send their taxi coordinates to their loved ones. Hence, such improvements have helped in the safety and reduction of crimes against women. To conclude, I firmly believe that with the help of advanced gadgets and methods, police and citizens are able to prevent any unfortunate incidents.