Chidren nowdays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. why is this the case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Entertainment comes in many forms, and one of the most well-known ones is television, which children nowadays love to watch. Although watching television for children helps to entertain them, it is said that it reduces their level of activity. Hence, I will explain the reason why this situation may happen and present my opinion on how to persuade children to do a higher level of activity. Older generations usually play toys and traditional games. In contrast, newer generations have recently been introduced to television. The trend has led children nowadays to reduce their activity levels as watching television will result in them doing fewer physical activities. By watching television, they are only stuck to watch programs on screens that last for hours. Consequently, they tend to be distracted, become lazy and avoid doing other entertainment such as playing sports and hanging out with friends which may increase their level of activity. Bad habits like these should be removed from children. Therefore, I suggest parents should get involved with their children's entertainment and limit their access to television. For example, by giving time to watch television only on weekends for 2 hours. In addition, Parents too should apply their children to communities and extracurriculars to provide them with new experiences and create new friends. With activities that require movements and interactions, they are prone to have a higher physical activity level. To conclude, parents should get involved with children ’s activities to ensure that they have a balanced life between their entertainment and their physical activities.