In many places, new homes are needed but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

In several countries, there is a growing need for residential houses whereas the cities are overcrowded. The only viable option is to build in rural areas but many think these places must be protected from urbanisation. I totally agree because crowding countrysides can affect animal habitation and secondly, increase pollution. These points are discussed below. First, building new homes in rural areas can destroy the dwellings of animals. When this happens, these species then come into the vicinity of built houses and become problematic for humans. For example, in Zimbabwe, there have been reports of elephants being found in certain locations because these formerly forest locations were turned into growth points for human dwelling by the state. In Hong Kong, another report showed wild pigs attacking people on the streets because they have no bushes to stay. Secondly, when the countrysides are overpopulated with residential buildings and individuals, the rates of pollution will increase significantly. This is due to the daily activities performed by members of households such as littering and the clearing of land for agriculture. For instance, a South Asian newspaper recently said that seventy per cent of places in India are dirty because of the farming activities done by citizens. The paper said that it is important to leave Indian bushes untouched to prevent further corrosive behaviours. In conclusion, therefore, I completely concur that it is more important to protect rural settings and not construct homes there because doing so would cause problems for animal populations and pollution to the environment.