An increasing number of people are changing their careers. What are the reasons? Do you think it is positive or negative?

Job -hopping has been a growing trend in recent years and the causes for this trend are manifold. In this essay, I will discuss three major reasons and elaborate on the danger of switching roles too frequently. Focusing firstly on the underlying factors for this trend, the prevailing one is probably the promise of better payments, possible job advancement and more enjoyable working environments brought about by new opportunities. In contrast to a dead-end job that is beneath one’s skill level and offers low salaries, it is only reasonable to move on to the promising one. Apart from searching for better career prospects, finding a job of passion is also a major contributor to such a movement. Considering the large proportion of our lives spent working, it is only logical to ensure that our lifelong well-being by undertaking tasks that we enjoy. Nevertheless, role switching, sometimes, is not the choice of individuals but the consequence of a shift in the market that leads to bankruptcy of companies and the disappearance of positions. This is evident during the Covid-19 pandemic when unemployment was aggravated due to many traditional businesses having to shut down owing to problems caused by the lockdown. With regards to the pros and cons of job -hopping, apart from enjoying what they desired from their hopping, people need to be cautious about the danger of changing jobs too quickly. On the bright side, when pursuing better opportunities proactively, people are likely to gain what they have expected such as better payment, fringe package, job promotion and job satisfaction. Furthermore, they are likely to stand out in working places as they have probably become more open-minded, experienced and well connected due to their rich experience of working in different organisations and with different. However, such experience will become a liability when exceeding a certain point. Those who have more turners in a shorter period of time are likely to be labelled as job hoppers who lack commitment. Employers tend to avoid recruiting applicants whose resumes have been tarnished by multiple short stints as they tend to cut down the expenses on recruiting and training by favouring more stable employees. Excessively switching careers, therefore, is likely to diminish all the advantages mentioned above and lead to unemployment. In conclusion, although the incentives for people to hop between different careers are also the benefits they are likely to obtain, this movement from one role to another is not necessarily beneficial, and when exceeding a balance point, they tend to end up jeopardising their employability.