Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some advantages or disadvantages of television for children

Nowadays, there is no doubt that children want to watch television more than before. However, watching television of children also has advantages and disadvantages that people should consider properly. I will explain both of them in the next paragraphs. One of the benefits of television for children today is that there are a lot of more attractive images, sounds and motions in television programs. Therefore, when children see them, they can develop their worldview and improve their creative thinking more than only reading the textbooks. From my experience, when my son views TV shows for kids such as the life of animals, cartoons, then he has more creative questions and creates more imaginary stories to tell with his friends. This is a good thing for developing children ’s imagination. However, when children spend more time watching television, they will have many drawbacks for their health. One of the health issues is that it causes children ’s eye problems. As a result, children will be nearsightedness or farsightedness or astigmatism, so that they can not see clearly at an early age. In my case, my nephew usually watches the small screen for over 8 hours every day, thus he was nearsighted from 6-year-olds. This is obviously not good for him. In a nutshell, watching television has both advantages and disadvantages for children. To leverage the benefits, I think parents should keep their eyes on monitoring the watching time of children that children should watch television programs less than 2 hours every day and have an interval interruption every 15 minutes.