Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

The past 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in downloading books and music from the internet. Despite the undeniable economic harm that copyrighted books and music have brought to their producers' lives, I intend to argue that the overall benefits of this are numerous. The reasons for this are as follows. First of all, it is an irrefutable fact that the availability of books and music on the Internet for free would result in a significant decline in the number of published ones in the future. Downloading copyrighted products would cause a decline in publishers' income, resulting in a loss of interest and motivation to produce new ones. According to the statistics, the number of authors and singers experienced a 20% drop from 2015 to 2021. It is, therefore, crucial to compensate for insufficient economic profit for publishers. Yet, perhaps the strongest argument in favour of this issue is a reduction in ecological damage. Having online access to books and music has made cutting trees to produce papers and print books redundant. A salient example of this is Australia where the number of printed scientific books plunged from 800000 in 2010, to 50000 in 2019. Additionally, this approach has contributed to a significant increase in the studying hours per capita globally. Although this phenomenon has been accompanied by financial harm to the producers, I believe the environmental and societal merits are numerous By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that this evolution in technology has had a positive impact on the environment and human knowledge. Also, I think governments could take responsibility for financial loss to the producers.