Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a dispute over cutting down public recreation areas for apartment buildings in the city centre, helping people save commuting time for work. Though there are some benefits to commuters, I would not support replacing parks and gardens with the purpose of their time convenience. On the one hand, As the centre is usually chosen area for most companies for their offices, there is always a high demand for apartment buildings in this area. It is the result of people considering their work-life balance or productivity affected by the long commuting time between home and work. For instance, a man who commutes only fifteen minutes from home to the workplace and vice versa would feel much better in the morning and have more time for his family or hobbies. Furthermore, in terms of profit, apartment buildings in the central area are easily sold and rented. However, I would argue that these benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. Recreation areas in the city centre are the fresh air amid the hustle and bustle: In sustainable urban planning, there should always be recreation areas such as parks and gardens, making the city aesthetically pleasing, improving air quality, and helping people reduce stress. In addition to that, the problem with travelling time could be solved public transportation system. New York City is a great example of urban planning, in which a metro system help everybody move around the city and were still able to keep Central Park at the heart of the city. With the great benefits mentioned, real estate near parks and gardens is appealing for the majority of city residents. In conclusion, it seems to me that keeping recreation areas in the city centre is a long term benefit to city residents in sustainable development.