Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. DO the advanatges of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely believed that learning a foreign language at primary school is more beneficial compared to secondary school. This trend has both merits and demerits. In my opinion, I believe that despite having a few drawbacks, it is vital in numerous ways for students. On the one hand, this trend has a few shortcomings. The primary disadvantage of this approach is that it is unnecessary for people who do not have a tendency to work or study in other countries in the future. For example, a child is learning French during his school days, but then he chooses to become an IT professional in his own country. Thus, French is not useful for his future career. Another drawback is that children do not possess the required decision-making skills during their early school days compared to in secondary school which they understand deeply about their field of interest. So, if they do not choose a career in language domains, it is a waste of time for them during primary school. Hence, learning a non-regional language in primary school may be less beneficial. On the other hand, there are two main advantages of learning a language in early school days. First and foremost, at a young age, children have a high grasping power due to which they can learn new things in lesser time. For example, a five-year-old child may learn to operate a mobile phone faster than a fifty-year-old lady because of the functionality of the brain. Therefore, if children learn a new language in their primary school days, it will take them a little time to complete compared to higher schooling time. Moreover, it is necessary for people who have a tendency to study abroad or work in foreign companies since they will be given privilege compared to people who are not proficient in the local language. Thus, the new language can be advantageous in many ways. To sum up, although there are vivid drawbacks of learning a new language in early childhood, its merits overweigh these demerits due to the knowledge and future opportunities in different ways cannot be underestimated.