These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, travel is less costly and time-consuming than it used to be. As such, going on vacation in faraway places has become one of the most popular ways for people to experience new things and to enjoy life. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and then give a conclusion on whether or not the benefits are worth the drawbacks. On the one hand, tourists may not respect the places they are visiting. Many beautiful areas are often polluted with litter and trash left behind by irresponsible tourists. Graffiti is drawn on important monuments and sites, tarnishing their charm. For instance, the world-famous Stonehenge has long experienced floods of people traveling through its stone pillars, edging their names onto the pillars and even chipping away parts of the stone to keep as souvenirs, damaging the historical site permanently. Another transgression that tourists commit is the violation of the privacy of native inhabitants. Local people going about their day are photographed and recorded, frequently without their permission. The intrusiveness of the action will not even be acknowledged, leading to people uncomfortable with this behavior closing the doors to outsiders. On the other hand, I think that the benefits of tourism outweigh the negatives. Tourism contributes significantly to the economy of developing countries. Nations with poor economies use tourism as a way to attract outside investments and provide jobs for their citizenry. Island nations like the Bahamas for example, draw in tourists with tropical paradises and beautiful beaches; stimulating the local economy with the money generated. An additional advantage is the improvement of national relations and global image. Tourism offers an opportunity for people from different backgrounds and ethnicities to interact, facilitate conversions and understanding. Therefore, it could be used as a tool to establish stronger connections between people of dissimilar cultures and lead to improved international relations between countries. In conclusion, although international traveling could have some drawbacks, I believe that the advantages of tourism outweigh the negative effects it can sometimes cause.