Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some poeple think that interviews is not a reliable mthod of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many multinational companies conduct interviews in order to select the best candidates for their organisation. Although it may be argued that interviews are not a reliable method of selecting a person for a job, I agree with the premise and will substantiate my reasons in the course of this essay. The expression " First impression, is the best impression" comes to mind here because this is what interviews are basically about. A company gets many applications for any given job requirement. Therefore in order to "thin out the herd", firms hold these formal discussions so as to gauge the interviewees. Moreover, this way the interviewer will also be able to assess the technical know-how of the applicant and his expectations. In addition, the temperament of the applicant can be assessed along with his communication level. The communication level is a very important aspect of a job because there may be situations where a potential employee needs to speak to senior-level managers, and if they are unable to convey their message in a simplistic manner, then the message gets lost. Furthermore, it is an opportunity for the company to provide a potential employee with their expectations of them, and also through these discussions help them to determine whether the applicant will suit their working environment. Also, through a face to face interview, interviewers can get to know through the body language and facial expressions the exact intent of the applicant. This is very important and cannot be obtained from a resume. To conclude, I believe that interviews are important from a company's perspective for obtaining the best employee for their requirement. As they are going to be paying for their services in terms of salaries, it is only fair that they get to see the potential employee and understand their capabilities.