Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

At the present time, many people prefer to work for themselves rather than working in a big company. In the following paragraphs, the causes of this phenomenon and the drawbacks of being self-employed will be outlined in detail. One of the obvious reasons that encourages people to choose to be self-employed is the freedom to work independently which provides them the ability to think out of the box and do whatever they want. In the other words, if an individual is working in an organization then they will be bound by the rules and regulations of the company. For example, working in the government, the employees have to wear the same uniform and do the same hairstyle. In addition, they have to receive and follow orders from their boss. Not everyone appreciates being bound by the rules that someone else has made. on the other hand, there are several downsides to self-employment. To start with, the monthly income is not fixed. A self-employed person's earnings fructuate throughout the year whereas someone working for a company has a guaranteed salary at the end of the month. Another disadvantage is that many self-employed are often work all they and night which lead to insufficient rest and exercise. In a result, it creates an unhealthy lifestyle which affects both mental health and physical health. In conclusion, although working for oneself is definitely beneficial for young people because it enables them to work on their own terms, there are drawbacks such as inaccurate income and the lack of sleep that need to be considered before choosing to be a freelancer.