Some people think that the government should use extra money to fund programs to improve the environment. Others think that it is better for the government to spend money to support artistic programs. Which option do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is often argued that the government should invest money for improving the environment as opposed to other programs such as supporting the arts. Whilst I believe that art programs are important, I agree with the notion that the ministry should support programs for improving the surroundings and I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. For starters, a clean bill of health is the greatest concern of all individuals. So the administration has to implement ways to help obtain this. They can make the switch to greener forms of energy. For instance, the leadership in Finland has installed numerous wind turbines outside major cities which help generate electricity for the city as well as the country dwellers. In addition, they can ensure that car dealers make the switch to selling electric cars rather than the normal fossil fuel-powered vehicles. This in fact will help in the long run to bring down the carbon emission levels. Moreover, it is important from the view of the administration to try and clear up the air as this will help increase tourism in their respective countries which in turn will help boost their economy and create more job opportunities for the local people. For instance, in Venice, Italy, because of the number of boats travelling through the canals, the pollution in the rivers is increasing which in turn is resulting in a decline in the number of tourists in the city. In conclusion, I believe that preserving the environment is very important and that it is imperative that the government do what is necessary to help to get the ball rolling in this regard. Although other programs such as art and sports are important for a countries' economy, they all take a back seat when it comes to cleaner air and a cleaner environment.