Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of commentators have expressed the view that social service should be included in the high school curriculum. I am an advocate of this idea because this will assist in developing a sense of responsibility in the students. It will also inculcate the feeling of love for others. Firstly, by including social activities for a charity, the school authorities assist their students to realise the responsibility for society. By considering them as a part of the assessment, they will perform social activities sincerely and efficiently. If an individual, for instance, helps in cleaning the environment by growing some plants. This encourages him to look after the plants and become a responsible citizen even for a limited time period. However, this behaviour comes into his habit gradually and spontaneously. In this way, the quality of being responsible can be developed by performing social welfare activities even as a school assignment or project. In addition to this, when we connect with other people for a noble cause, such as, assisting them, say, in sports. This develops a feeling of love for others. Because, unpaid teaching makes the student feel and express gratitude towards their volunteer teacher. This leads to building the relationship of unconditional love for each other. Therefore, voluntary tutoring is a kind of community service, that has the capability to develop an everlasting loving bond between student and teacher. In conclusion, I consider that inclusion of unpaid social activities in the school curriculum is an effective way to inculcate various soft skills in pupils. Which results in a responsible and compassionate citizen of a nation.