In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In many developed countries, the average life period of each person is significantly improving. The grey populations lead to various issues for individuals and society and it should be dealt with by some effective solutions. To begin with, there are hosts of problems behind this phenomenon. The two main issues of the ageing population are adverse effects on the economy and financial burden on each individual. This trend severely affects national budgets and economic imbalance because the government have to pay more for the retirement pension and medical care for older people. As a result, there is a tight budget for other citizens and financial responsibility is added on the shoulder of the young generations through paying taxes. For example, the Japanese politics had to spend subsidies from taxes fund to protect the retired. However, several options can be adopted to tackle this problem. The measures would be to increase the retirement life for working adults and encourage immigration workers. Government can implement beneficial policies such as rising the retirement age from 65 - 70 instead of 60 - 65 compared to before. However, individuals in this age group need to ensure their health to continue working. Besides, the regime can give programs to attract workers from developing countries to build up human resources for their nation. Countries in Asia where there is a large number of employees are illustrated to set a good example. In conclusion, the increasing elderly population is a big challenge nowadays for every developed country. This trend influences the national economy and budgeting obligation on each citizen. Therefore, the solutions to these problems are extending the retirement age and promoting immigration employees.