Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As technology progresses, some people point out that it will be simpler to prevent offences and eventually decrease the rate of committing crimes. This essay will discuss why the crime rate is going to drop with the help of the advancement of technology. To begin with, the authorities can work more easily by using high-tech mechanical equipment such as CCTV, cameras and computers. These helpful objects can detect the suspects, especially in a closer view. For example, CCTV, installed around the corner of the street of many capital cities, is one of the most useful technologies that can ensure the safety of the citizens, if somebody commits a crime, the officers could replay the CCTV and find out what has happened and who was a lawbreaker. Seeing that, getting away from the police in the modern era is extremely difficult, the crime rate seems to drop. Furthermore, social media is another way that has a significant impact on law enforcement. In this modern era, almost everyone has a mobile phone which can take a photo or record a video, and by posting the crime scene on the website or the official Facebook of a government department, citizens could be a crucial part in security surveillance of the society. For instance, the police can get up-to-the-minute information on an ongoing crime by paying attention to their social media feeds. Consequently, the people, having an idea of breaking the law, will be afraid of being arrested easily. In conclusion, in today’s world, the crime rate will be definitely lower than in the past by using technology such as helpful equipment and social media as a deterrent.