In some countries, the use of renewable energy sources is being encouraged. Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a fact that nowadays, some countries prefer using green energy sources such as wind power or solar power. In my opinion, it may be difficult for a country to move toward using renewable energy sources, but it will bring some irrefutable advantages and become a positive development. On the one hand, the changes in terms of using green types of energy sources would probably put a heavy financial burden on the government as well as the company. They may have to purchase a million dollars to upgrade new equipment and facilities harnessing wind, solar power, or hydroelectric power. For example, the average cost of installing a wind turbine for generating electricity is about $3 million, and an average country would require a wind farm with hundreds of turbines to supply power to all companies and households. Resulting in many countries, especially developing countries or poor economic countries such as Africa, can not afford to use these power sources. On the other hand, the advantages outweigh the drawbacks in terms of the long run. Firstly, fossil fuels are the main cause of environmental pollution, since petroleum-powered vehicles and factories are releasing tremendous amounts of CO2 into the atmosphere every day. Therefore, instead of using coal and petroleum that emit a lot of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, using wind power or solar power will help to reduce the emission and improve air quality. Secondly, fossil fuels, like natural gas or oil, are finite resources and will soon be depleted, which will potentially threaten the economy if there are no alternative sources. This fact emphasizes the need to develop renewable energy to gradually replace traditional sources when fossil fuels run out. In conclusion, I believed that countries should be encouraged to replace fossil fuels with renewable energy sources because of the environmental purposes and long-term purposes.