Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

There are arguments about the impact of advertising on people’s purchasing habits today. A lot of people say that we will buy items which are not really helpful for us due to attractive advertisements, while others debate that through advertising, we may know new products which increase our quality of life. In my opinion, I agree with the second thought based on my experience. First, there is no doubt that people have made wrong buying decisions because of inspiring advertisements while they do not really need things that they have bought. However, this is not the fault of the advertisement because the advertising only provides the information to us so that making choices is our own responsibility. For example, even though I saw a promotion about a luxury car that has attractive images and motion, I still have not chosen the car because I can use public transportation for my travelling. On the flip side, I think with the help of advertising, we can recognize our new needs through new products and services that make our lives better. Because of the development of advertising technology, we can access the information of plenty of products from all over the world, as a result, we will know how to use them properly in every circumstance. I personally was very happy after I saw the advertisement about a tablet device which is light and powerful so that I can bring it anywhere instead of using my heavy laptop. In a nutshell, there are always opinions about the influence of advertising on our purchases. However, I strongly believe whether advertising helps us to know that products are good for our lives or encourages us to buy unsuitable products, the buying decision is up to us. We need to think carefully when receiving advertising information to optimize our own lives.