Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It has always been debated about the importance of homework assigned by the institution to students.Some are of the opinion that extra after- school work burdens students and does not give them the opportunity to pursue other extra-curricular activities,while others believe that practising more concepts at home will improve their grades during exams.In my opinion, time at home should be utilised by children to learn additional skills apart from studying in order for them to be successful. This essay will discuss both views and also present my view on the importance of structured homework so as to allow the holistic growth of children. On one side,extra work after school burdens children.They are so caught up with their studies because of which they will not have enough time to learn other skills needed to progress in life.In a recent survey conducted on school children of grade 8,it was noted that students were lacking in public speaking skills or were unable to be multi-linguistic. These skills are most needed in the case of pursuing higher education in other countries.Lack of time discourages students from pursuing skills needed to be successful in the latter part of their life. On the other hand, homework often makes children repeat the concept at home leading to better understanding. Furthermore, children get to study at home without getting distracted and often understands the concept better if made to do the same thing repeatedly,resulting in success during exams. For example,a revised child performs better at school compared to a child who does not practice at home.For these reasons, homework is often advised by the school to children irrespective of their resistance. To conclude,from time immemorial academy work has been part and parcel of school duty towards students. Although it helps in improving the concept taught at school,but they do not acquire skills to achieve success in the latter part of life.In my view,structured homework allows flexibility for students to excel at both studies and other skills required for future success.