Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Governments all around the globe allocate significant funds for culture and arts, however there is an ongoing debate whether those spendings are justifiable. Some people argue that investing in public services would be the better choice. Although I understand the concerns of those people, I do not agree with their opinion. While there is a perception that arts and other public services are different industries, I think it is not correct to separate them completely as theatres and museums also serve public interests. For instance, it is widely agreed that art, music and other types of performances play an important role in social and spiritual life. Those activities help people to relax, find new meanings and inspiration. In this regard, we can consider the art industry to be one more type of public services, perhaps, not that crucial for physical survival medicine, but still in demand. The second point that I would like to mention is that the traditionally understood public services such as pensions, health care, education, require much greater funding in comparison with arts. Consequently, even if the government decide to send all money on those services instead of arts, it would not make much difference. There is no reason to deprive citizens of their cultural lives if it does not solve any social issues. To conclude, despite the fact that there are people who suggest that all public money should be allocated for public services instead of music and theatres, I argue that culture is also an important part of individuals' lives and that saving money on arts would not solve any social problems.