Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects are not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

As we all know, the education system has been improvised where extra course works and projects are included in assessments apart from formal examinations. However, it is said that continual assessments are not the proper way to evaluate students. I partially agree with some disagreements on this claim. First and foremost, continual assessments are not an effective method to assess students ’ academic performances as the work they produce may not be their original efforts. To give a clear example,usually, the time frame given to submit a project will be longer and students will attempt to copy from other resources or even discuss with their family members in order to produce good work. As a result, even though they will be able to get more marks, the students actually lack integrity in this case. Thus, evaluating students ’ works through projects are not logical. Therefore, only by conducting formal assessments, the accurate performances of students will be revealed. On the contrary, for certain situations continual evaluation is satisfactory. It is undeniable that examinations could be too stressful for students as they totally need to be dependent on their efforts. Most of the time, students tend to burn out by studying too much for examinations. For instance, some of the subjects are too difficult to score and students are forced to burn the midnight candle in order to prepare for their papers. Consequently, they attempt to just memorize the contents of the topic rather than understand it. By contrast, projects and coursework will provide students with more understanding due to the fact that there are no time constraints. To conclude, continual assessments are sometimes do not make sense in terms of evaluating students ’ performances. However, at a certain time, it is accepted as a satisfactory way of assessing students as students could be too frustrated by formal examinations.