modern scientist need specialist in certain fields not in others. some people think that government should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that universities play a crucial role in educating societies. However, while some believe that this education should be geared towards subjects that may be of practical use in our future and government only suppose those, I agree with those who argue that one's choice of subject in school only should lie with student and government support no matter whatever their choices are. First and forememets, it is vital that universities equip our workforce with engineers, scientists and other professionals who enable our society to progress. This is because, a country without such experts may struggle to plan,create or maintain essential features of modern life. For instance, if our country didn't have engineers or scientists we wouldn't have an underground, trams or infrastructure. And I do believe that government encourage these students who want to study in those fields of education. On the other hand, I do believe allowing students what they want to study and funding these students whichever study they want to undertake is the only way of acquiring motivated competent and passionate professionals. The reason for this is that free choice provides people with a sense of autonomy and research has shown that autonomy is an essential catalyst for a drive. Conversely, if students force to choose specific professionals in order to get funding from the government, may result in losing their desire towards their work as people are averse to doing anything which seems imposed upon them. In conclusion, although it is of critical importance that universities should supply our society with such experts and those who choose to study in these fields should get governments encouragement and support, I believe every other student should also be funded by the government.