In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

We are seeing changes in the structure and roles of families in the recent years that we would not have imagined in the past century. Same-gender parenting is one of them. I feel that such a non-traditional family type has negative impacts on the child, even though it may benefit the parents themselves. Same-gender marriage, which was illegal in the olden days, is getting common recently. Human-rights activists, as well as LGBT societies, are lobbying governments around the globe to allow same-sex couples to officially tie the knot. As a result, most countries have now legalised the marriage of woman and woman or man and man. These couples would either adopt children or create their biological child with the help of advanced medical techniques. This has made a huge impact in the family structure, which has a father and a mother to a child traditionally. My friend, who is a she, has a girlfriend. However, her family strongly opposed their relationship as they are conservative and could not accept it. Children of such families would likely suffer psychologically when they reach a certain age. When they notice the difference between their family and that of their friends, they would start questioning their parents. This difference would get more and more obvious, especially on certain days such as parents day or mothers day or fathers day. This could hurt the children emotionally if they could not take it well. My friend's parents eventually allowed their daughter's relationship with another woman based on a mutual agreement that they would not have any child. I believe her parents thought of the consequences beforehand to have come to such agreement. To conclude, modernisation has allowed changes that we might not have thought of before. One such change is same-sex marriage which, I believe, could bring happiness only to the couple themselves.