Some people believe that children should not be given homework everyday, while others agree that they must get homework everyday  in order to be successful at school. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a notion that students should be given homework on a daily basis in order to be successful in their studies. Others believe that homework is not necessary. This essay with discuss the debate and explain why homework is important but should not be given every day. Homework assists in understanding and remembering the material covered in class. The amount of time that teacher spends explaining a certain subject is limited, thus some students might be unable to comprehend it well. While doing the homework children need to review the topic and complete the exercises. As a result, they devote more time learning the subject, which will help them to understand it better. On the other hand, having to do homework for several classes on a daily basis will leave no time for other activities. Adolescents are high-energy individuals who do not wish to devote all their time studying. They need time to play sports, socialize with friends and help parents with household duties. Children may feel pressured if they have too much homework, and might not study at all. There have been many examples of students being unable to study in school due to the difficulty of the program and dropping out. I believe that homework should be assigned only to benefit the studies of the students and in limited amounts, perhaps 2-3 times a week. This way, students will still be doing their assignments, but they will have time for other activities as well. To summarize, while homework might help students to perform better in school, it should not be given daily. Children should be able to engage in activities other than schoolwork.