The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or countryside into the city centre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that the most efficient way to tackle car jams and pollution is to migrate the population from countryside to the city centres, I disagree with this statement and believe the increased number of residents will also increase the use of motor vehicles contributing more towards pollution. Encouraging the population living in rural places to move into the urban area will be beneficial if the cities have good infrastructure and space to allocate them. This is because most of the suburbs have jobs in the city. Consequently, They have to travel every morning from their home causing traffic jams and pollution.Vehicles caught in traffic emit more poisonous gases into the atmosphere and thus increase air pollution. By contrast, if they live in a place near their office in the city, they can reduce their travelling time and distance. This will solve travel problems. Hence, if the cities have sufficient infrastructure to accommodate all of these folk, it is certainly a great solution to movement and pollution issues. But this is not the case now as the cities lack the space and infrastructure to adapt to this change. The best way to resolve this issue is to encourage businesses to operate in rural areas or allow employee to work from home, for instance, most IT and E-commerce allow their workers to work from their own home, reducing the need to travel to their office will add to the tally of reduce vehicles and pollution. Furthermore, setting up organizations in rural areas will introduce more jobs and create more opportunities for the rural area to develop into an urban area itself. In conclusion, Since cities are already overcrowded then moving the community from rural places to the city with an aim to reduce transit and pollution is not a practically good solution.It would be better if we encourage companies to set up their businesses in suburban areas and by offering work from home.