Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?”

Rehabilitation does not always reach its finest objective since many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Although causes of such a problematic trend might be inevitable, I deem that there are also possible measures that can be taken to tackle the mentioned issue. Motivations of former offenders who recommit any wrongdoing can be diverse. First of all, being locked away in prisons where theirs’ surroundings are filled with different criminals can worsen their conditions. The perspectives of these men might be badly influenced and hence, increasing their chance of committing more crimes when they are released. Secondly, rejoining society can be a tremendously difficult task for ex-convicts since they are on a black list whilst having a mark on their backgrounds. As a result, former inmates are less likely to find suitable jobs to make ends meet and they can have the feeling of isolation, even depression. These negative feelings can, later on, build their habit of anti-social, thus, they can make the wrong move, again. However, these problems can generally be resolved by applying appropriate methods. If we classify law-breakers by their illegal actions, they can be allocated in a suitable area of criminals of the same category. Consequently, wrong-doers will less likely to be influenced by a more negative mind of other types. After their time of being imprisoned or captured, these culprits can create groups or small organizations, supervised by authorities, to coordinate newly released convicts to a righteous path. Furthermore, with a suitable mental guide added in their time of serving, these men will be ensured to be well-behaved when they have completed their punishments. In conclusion, people can make mistakes repeatedly, and we need to understand their circumstances as they deserved to be treated to make our society worth living.