In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain nations have the capacity to import diverse foodstuffs for their populations from several places around the world. I argue that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages. This position will be justified in the essay below. First and foremost, importing a variety of food means the locals can access these and live healthier lives like the Hong Kongers who are said to be one of the longest living people in the world because they eat first -grade products from Asia, Europe, America, and Africa. Secondly, it is simply a matter of increasing the choices of the citizens, a good indicator of the country's development status and direction. As the old adage goes, variety is a spice of life, hence, not only will the citizens be healthy but also happy to live in an environment where they eat what they want. A recent Newspaper article, for example, indicated that Hong Kong is a migrant destination because it is both a financial hub of Asia and a provider of an array of choices for its residents, including in the spectrum of food and nutrition. On the other hand, however, transporting foodstuffs from elsewhere in the world has disadvantages such as the inability to follow the production processes and the increased costs of importing. First, it is usually best to monitor a product from its planting stage to its consumption phase but this cannot be guaranteed in items purchased abroad. Worse still, certain producers can lie just to market and sell their products which makes importers get the products of low quality marketed as high quality. In my experience, for instance, I have never consumed nice oranges from South Africa yet Hong Kong continues to source its oranges from there. The good thing is that there are many more choices from Australia and other places. Secondly, the world market is volatile and many governments are coerced to buy things at a very steep cost whereas it would have been cheaper to grow locally. This is not to mention that local businesses suffer the consequences of international competition. For example, in a bid to get Spanish cabbage, Belgium spends over 3 million euros yearly and in the process, pushes local farmers to the doldrums as they are forced to sell their cabbages cheaper just to match the pricing system for the Spanish cabbages. In closing, therefore, despite the challenges discussed in the third paragraph, I argue that transporting a variety of food from all over the globe has more important advantages. This is the position justified in the essay above.