The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that people enjoy coping with each other and that is the reason why fashion and consumerism thrive. In my opinion, this is largely true though there are other potential practical explanations. Humans tend to compare their own life with the lives of people surrounding them. Consequently, most individuals aim at looking not worse and ideally better than others. This desire facilitates the growth of the fashion and consumer industries as people buy those stuff in order to maintain a prosperous and beneficial appearance in the eyes of others. For instance, if the members of a certain social group start considering a car as an indicator of success, many individuals of that society would buy a car even if they do not really need it. On the other hand, there are other reasons facilitating the consumerism culture. The overall wealth of the human population is growing, so the number of people who could afford to purchase new clothes and new goods is growing as well. Those people, who have just escaped poverty, buy new things not because they want to copy anyone, but because those new things help people to meet their basic needs. For instance, high-quality hiking clothes make travelling by foot much more convenient and safe. Consequently, as soon as people could afford such clothes they buy them. To conclude, although there are individuals who purchase new goods and fashion items just for the sake of maintaining a good public appearance, others buy them out of necessity..