People are increasingly getting married later in life. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this day and age, people tend to get married at an older age. Even though getting married later in life might lead people to work on their self-improvement and try to reach a better self-awareness, it can create some difficulties to make adjustments between couples. In my opinion, the advantages of getting married later in life outweigh its disadvantages. The main advantage of getting married further down the road, is that it gives people the chance to work on their quality of personal life and get to know themselves better so that they can have a vivid picture of what they want in life and also what to expect from their partners. As a result, it means people become independent and have a crystal-clear view of their needs and goals. For instance, one of my friends got married when she was 31 years of age, which can be considered as an old age for marriage in Iran, while she had her own business and had a solid understanding of her priorities. Moreover, she got married 5 years ago, and she is satisfied with her life. All in all, getting married depends on being mature enough and as it is said “ age brings wisdom.” That said, the main disadvantage of staying single until later in life is that people are likely to find it difficult to cope with each other and make adjustments to each other’s interests and needs which can be manifested in various ways. For instance, financial matters and the restrictions which are brought about by married life could adversely impact the marriages. Moreover, bitter disagreements could arise out of the conflict of interests, especially, if both spouses are alphas. When people have experienced an independent life style for years, they might find it difficult to adjust to what is expected of them. In a sense it will be hard for them to make certain sacrifices. For instance, the man may not be willing to abandon the Sunday night football game to have dinner with his in-laws which will most definitely be offensive to his wife, arguments will follow and the rest is history. All things considered, the tendency to get married at an older age in life is increasing and though it gives the individuals the chance to work on their quality of life and getting to know themselves better, it can cause some difficulties in making adjustments. All in all, I believe that the advantages of getting married later in life outpaces its disadvantages.