As the demand for oil and gas continues to rise, there is a growing need to explore these energy sources in remote locations. Do you believe the benefits of exploiting these areas outweigh the drawbacks of causing environmental damage? 4.5

It is argued that more remote areas should be exploited to explore deposits of oil and gas as the demand for these energy sources is constantly growing. Although the exploration can be done easily as the locations are not yet developed, I believe that the drawback of destroying the natural habitats of wildlife outweighs the benefits. On the one hand, most rural areas are undeveloped, making it easier to exploit these locations for energy sources. Many mining companies choose remote locations to dig not only because there is a higher chance of finding oil and gas deposits but also because they do not affect any populated areas. Most of the time, developing these areas does not conflict with existing city development plans, making large-scale excavation easier. Furthermore, there is not much cleanup required after the exploration, which further reduces the overall costs. However, although people are not directly affected by the exploitation, there are detrimental effects on the lives of local wildlife. Remote areas often harbor a wide diversity of species due to the absence of human intervention. But if their natural habitats are disturbed by the introduction of excavation machinery, the animals can lose their homes and even face extinction. For instance, research has found that African lions lose their habitats for hunting and living due to pollution resulting from exploitation activities. As a result, they are now listed as endangered species. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the benefits of easier exploitation in remote locations do not outweigh the devastating effects on wildlife.